TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!

One of my favorite poems is by Douglas Malloch, called, “Its Fine Today”. In this poem he is telling us that we should not worry about what happened yesterday, or what may happen tomorrow, but to live one day at a time! Below is his poem in its entirety.

“Sure, this world is full of trouble–I ain’t said it ain’t; Lord, I’ve had enough and double reason for complaint. Rain and storm have come to fret me, skies are often gray; thorns and brambles have beset me on the road–but say, ain’t it fine today?

“What’s the use of always weepin’, making trouble last? What’s the use of always keepin thinkin’ of the past? Each must have his tribulation—water with his wine; life, it ain’t no celebration, trouble? –I’ve had mine—but today is fine!”

“It’s today that I am livin’, not a month ago. Havin’; losin’; takin’; givin’; as time wills it so. Yesterday a cloud of sorrow fell across the way; it may rain again tomorrow, it may rain—but say, ain’t it fine today?”

I remember that one of my wife’s favorite sayings is “Today is the first day of the rest of your life!” Meaning of course that today we begin our life all over again. And we can do so every morning. We can begin every morning with a day with no mistakes in it—so far at least. Every day will not be perfect, but we can determine to make it a day of adventure and achievement, a day to live and enjoy. Or we can determine to simply survive another boring and unproductive day.

Even Jesus in Matthew 7:11 taught us to pray each day for the things we need when he said, “Give us this day, our daily bread.” Then in verse 34 he tells us in his Sermon on the Mount, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” So to simply live one day at a time is something that Jesus taught also.

Paul gives us words of comfort in 2nd Corinthians 4:16 when he wrote, “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”

So let’s take comfort knowing that God is taking care of our physical and spiritual needs today, and if he blesses us with another day, he will take care of those needs also. Just something to think about!

Harvey Schultz hschultz2@yahoo.com

23 Comments

Filed under Attitudes, Christianity, Douglas Malloch, Religion, Uncategorized

23 responses to “TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!

  1. Frances

    Thank you for this today. I am going through a tough time and your note of inspiration reminded me to enjoy today.

  2. Phyllis

    Hi there, I have been procrastination in depression for the last 2 months coz there is a was i would like to proceed but i didn’t know how.The poem in your article, has helped me take the first step.Thank you for that, and keep up the good work.

  3. LOVE SB1070

    Beautiful words, I needed to read – I looked up this saying, since I cannot seem to move forward. I have overcame an insurmountable situation and should excited by moving forward with my life. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to get the attitude to match the positive achievements. I feel stuck and am seeking understanding of how to match a positive attitude with positive actions. Thank you again for offering some insight to this saying, that is how far off I am that I cannot even comprehend the meaning of it on my own.
    May God Always Bless You In Your Quest to Inspire Others!

    • Harvey

      Thanks so much for your comments and sorry it took me so long to answer. If you will go to (yourhoustonews.com/blog) then to “memories of an old geezer” there will be some very interesting articles and somes discussions soon. thanks, Harvey (the old geezer)

  4. Great words of comfort, my friend. You are still a blessing to many, many folks. May the Lord watch over you and keep you safe. — Jim

    • Harvey

      Thanks Jim for your kind comment. Last week I started posting the first of 52 articles called, “memories of an old geezer”. These can be found at (yourhoustonews.com/blog) hope you can visit and make some comments. your friend, Harvey

  5. Susan

    I woke up this morning and heard a voice say this verse to me ..Today is the first day of the rest of your life..so I got up and decided to search it and I came to your page. I have had a very difficult year.tackling so many issues all at one time. Today is the day that I am letting go. I’ve done all that I can do so thank you for this I will refer to it every morning until I have found peace within myself .. God Bless ..

    • Harvey

      Thanks for your comment and if you will go to (yourhoustonnews.blog) and go to “memories of an old geezer) we will be discussing this and other things. Harvey (the old geezer)

  6. Although this is an older post, I stumbled across it. To me, this is a great post. As my 12 year old Grand Son says. Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. It sets our priorities in the right place. Thanks for posting.

    • Harvey

      Thanks so much for your comment. I am starting to post articles on (yourhoustonnews/blog) and go to “memories of an old geezer”. I think you will find it interesting. Harvey

  7. Great poem. I also love “Be the Best of Whatever You Are”. They are very encouraging poems. Keep up the writing. Regards Ian Rossiter

    • Harvey

      Thanks for your comment. Please go to (yourhoustonews.com/blog) to “memories of an old geezer” and we will be discussing some interesting things. Harvey (the old geezer)

    • Harvey

      Your are right, I love both of these poems. Thanks. If you will go to (yourhoustonews.com/blog0 thedn to “memories of an old geezer” there will be some very interesting articles posted over the next year. Harvey, (the old geezer)

  8. Scott Peterson

    “Today IS the first day of the rest of my son’s life.” Today is the last day of my son’s chemotherapy. He was diagnoced with Leukemia on Dec. 7, 2010. 5 1/2 months of chemo and he’s beat it.

    • Harvey

      That is so wonderful. Sorry I am so long answering this. Pleast go to (yourhoustonews.com/blog and go to “memories of an old geezer” and we will be discussing some very interesting things. Harvey (the old geezer)

  9. A nice post. I also love his poem “Be The Best of Whatever You Are”. I liked that poem so much that I’m going to translate it into my native language (Azerbaijani)

    And btw, you have a nice blog. Good luck :)

    • Harvey

      Thanks, did you put in into your native language. I would like to see this. Go to (yourhoustonews.com/blog) and then to my articles “memories of an old geezer” and I think it will be interesting. Harvey (the old geezer)

  10. Pingback: Class of June 2011 Part 8 - Page 14 - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

  11. Pingback: Class of June 2011 Part 10 - Page 10 - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

  12. Chad

    Thank you for posting this! I am at a really low point in life right now, and falling into despair is very tempting. However, your post has really encouraged me.

    • Harvey

      Thanks for your comment and I am thankful that I was an encouragement. Please go to (yourhoustonews.com/blog) and we will be posting some interesting articles soon. Harvey (the old geezer)

  13. Very wise words to mull over: it’s never too late to change your life for the better: even one day can make a tremendous difference in our spiritual growth!

Leave a Reply

